construction area

EYFS Curriculum

Acorn closely follows the EYFS curriculum (Early Years Foundation Stage) from the UK.

Any educational curriculum (regardless of age group) sets out, at the highest level, the expectations of:

  • what students should be experiencing, learning and achieving at different stages in their studies
  • how student progress in meeting learning goals should be measured
  • how these assessment are used to ensure all students cover the full breadth of the curriculum, and any individual gaps are identified and used to inform future teaching.

Does it matter which curriculum?

As an international nursery, we are free to pick from a variety of established early years curriculums from around the world. So as a parent of a nursery-age child, does it matter? Can any particular one be "the best"?

The short answer is "not really", but it must be a modern curriculum, based on recent trends in education. There have been big changes in recent years, as teaching shifts away from rote learning towards developing skills; and a recognition individuals have different learning styles. The days of children colouring in photocopied worksheets, or chanting 'A, B, C ...' in unison are long gone!

Effective implementation of the chosen curriculum is key. By choosing the EYFS, we can access a pool of UK trained and experienced teaching staff, and on-going professional development.

What is the EYFS?

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a curriculum framework produced by the UK Government. All schools and childcare facilities in England are required to use it - it has also been widely adopted internationally.

It sets standards for the learning, development, and care of your child from birth to 5 years old. The standards ensure the continued learning and development of your child, and that they are kept safe.

EYFS 7 Areas of Learning

The EYFS framework outlines seven areas of learning and development. These are split in to three prime and four specific areas of learning.

The Prime Areas of Learning are particularly important for your child’s early development and future learning - they are the main focus for our youngest students:

  • Communication & Language
  • Personal Social & Emotional Development
  • Physical Development

The Specific Areas of Learning are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding The World
  • Expressive Arts & Design

How Will It Be Taught?

The EYFS framework identifies the essential role of play in your child’s development. It is through both child-led play and play guided by an adult that your child will develop confidence and relationships with others. Through play, teachers help your child to extend their vocabulary and develop their communication skills.

The EYFS framework identifies three characteristics of effective teaching and learning:

  • Playing & Exploring
  • Active Learning
  • Creating & Thinking Critically

How Do I Know How My Child Is Doing?

We use observations and continuous assessment to track progress against the EYFS for each child. This is used for formal and informal reporting of progress to parents, and to inform future teaching.

If you wish to discuss your child's progress at any time throughout the year, please speak to the class teacher.


Sara Assad
Aug 22, 2021
We absolutely love Acorn and the team there. Our daughter throughly enjoys her days there and has learnt so many new things. Her development has increased visibly and she is more communicative and independent. Thank you Acorn!
Mahmad Fugurally
Sep 8, 2020
We enrolled our little boy since when he was around 16months. Now he is 2.5Y. First week to nursery and he switch from sippy cup to straw bottle. We were impressed. And the amazing progress just keep going on and on. Acorn nursery is a very good nursery. With an excellent team of staff. Thank you all.